Countdown to MARDI GRAS!

With New Orleans only a 5 hour drive from Panama City Beach we decided that we would do a weekend road trip to experience MARDI GRAS in New Orleans!!  So we found an AirBNB a block off Bourbon Street that is pet-friendly and we are on to our next adventure!!

If you don’t know what Mardi Gras is all about – well first come out from under the rock you’ve been living under LOL!! and read on…

Mardi Gras is all about music, parades, floats, beads, food, drinks, and all the excitement that you can handle.  People will typically wear costumes or at the very least wear purple, green and gold! I plan on wearing as much purple as I can get away with LOL!! It is my signature color.

On the subject of colors of Mardi Gras, do you know what the colors mean?  Purple represents Justice.  Green represents Faith and Gold represents Power. “The official Mardi Gras colors [were chosen] in 1872 to honor the visiting Russian Grand Duke Alexis Alexis Alexandrovich Romanoff, whose house colors were purple, green and gold. The 1892 Rex Parade theme “Symbolism of Colors” affirmed the colors’ meaning.”  http://www.mardigrasneworleans.com/mgcolors.html

bourbon-street-beads

Pretty interesting, right? You can’t really imagine any other colors for Mardi Gras.  Now, what I notice here at the grocery stores are these desserts called “King Cakes.” I’ve never heard of them but the week before we go I do plan on trying one.  I will also indulge in another “real” King Cake while I am there.  From what I have read about these cakes is that there is a plastic baby inserted into them.  Back in the day, whoever received the piece of cake with the baby in it would then host the next King Cake party.  Sounds like my kind-of party…eat cake, find a prize, repeat!

They are a pretty cake…dazzled in the Mardi Gras colors.  They’re round in shape and sprinkled with sugar deliciousness.  I am sure that they are calorie-free during Mardi Gras as with any holiday desserts. 😉  I have even found them as k-cups for my Keurig coffee machine at home!! I will be bringing back a few of those LOL!!

king-cake_8017

Well…this is all that I am going to tease you with for now…next up will be Bourbon Street!!

And I promise you that I will be taking a ton of pictures and video while I am there!!  I want to make sure that you feel all of the Mardi Gras excitement with me!

15 days and counting…

 

Leave a Reply

